Monthly Memories – July

I am going to start posting ‘Monthly Memories’; the highs and sometimes lows of each passing month. Not every month will be terribly interesting, some will be longer and more in-depth, others will be a quick and snappy overview. This month ended with quite a lot of photo’s and memories that I liked, so be prepared πŸ˜‰

July started with a beautiful sunset visible over the housing estate I live on, I was hopeful that the old saying ‘red sky at night, shepherd’s delight’ would ring true and this month would actually feel like a summer month, however, most of it has been October feeling; cold, raining, gloomy – which unfortunately is quite stereotypical for British summertime’s (well British weather in general). It does however, mean that the days when it is warm, clear skies and bright we take full advantage of it.

20170706_004650[1]


Every Sunday my sister and I, with her two children in tow and Oscar, go visit my Dad, this weekend activity has been happening for as long as I can remember, and I don’t see it ever ending. Afterwards she returns to our family home, and we hang out, take all the little ones out for a walk (which they truly adore) and generally catch up. The first Sunday of the month saw the below cute moment happen… Perfect fit for a baby girl, whilst Oscar looked on slightly disgruntled, attempting to fit on what space was left of his bed (he loves her terribly, really).

20170702_140802[1]20170702_140834[1]


After a check-up visit to the vets early on in July, my Mum and I took Oscar to a local park, the day’s weather hadn’t started out all that optimistic, but by dinnertime it had warmed up to a nice 20Β°C and the sun was peeking through the clouds. Oscar had a whale of a time running about off lead.

2017-07-05-22-43-23-573

In the above picture you can see Oscar being outsmarted by a squirrel.

LRM_EXPORT_20170705_221245LRM_EXPORT_20170705_221510

LRM_EXPORT_20170705_221810LRM_EXPORT_20170705_221959LRM_EXPORT_20170705_222045

It was sad to see, in the above picture, that some of the leaves are already starting the change colour. Whilst I hold no real grief with the winter months, it can be difficult entering back into them when you feel like you haven’t had a summer.

LRM_EXPORT_20170705_222130LRM_EXPORT_20170705_222221LRM_EXPORT_20170705_222256LRM_EXPORT_20170705_222338LRM_EXPORT_20170705_223409LRM_EXPORT_20170705_223426

Memorial bench, where someone had left flowers for a beloved.

LRM_EXPORT_20170705_2235142017-07-08-18-43-28-125LRM_EXPORT_20170705_2236272017-07-08-04-40-03-0732017-07-08-18-42-59-283


The 6th of July marked my 1 month blogging anniversary, this is obviously tiny in comparison to a lot of people, a lot of people who I aspire to be like, but I’ve really enjoyed doing it; thinking up blog posts, taking pictures, writing them, waiting for Mondays, Wednesdays and Fridays to roll around so I can see them published. Talking in the comments with any and all of you who have be kind enough to read, like and comment. So to those of you who always like, and leave a lovely message, thank you so much!

PhotoGrid_1499313158620[1]


On the 12th of July I uploaded my Bedroom Tour post, I try to periodically take pictures of my room anyways, I have a terrible memory and knowing that I’ll be able to look back in decades at a room that was once my definition of home and comfort, but has become a distance memory, is nice.

PhotoGrid_1499298274730[1]


Below are pictures of another very pretty evening, each picture was a couple minutes apart, and bear in mind that these were taken on my phone, so reality was much nicer.

20170710_21500320170710_21501320170710_215412

Spot the Schnauzer πŸ˜‰


On Saturday the 15th I joined my sister at a food and craft fair at a Church Parish Room, she had purchased a stall for her Darcey Candles and I was there to lend a helping hand. You can see the post where I interview her about being a Representative for a company, and if you’re interested in buying any candles off her there is a discount code for you in that post.

PhotoGrid_1500168254945[1]

I wasn’t expecting the 5 hours to be terribly entertaining, but there were a good amount of visitors, and helping people pick out their scents and looking at the other stalls made the hours pass reasonably quickly. It did however prove to be the catalyst for desperately wanting to go to a car boot sale, on both the buyer and seller side – we used to go to them all the time as kids and there are so many of my most treasured childhood toys that came from car boot sale purchases.. Polly Pocket Victorian House or the Mermaid Kingdom anyone..?

OMG and Lego Duplo and Playmobil… – (20 minutes after google image searching and I’m in a frenzy of 90’s toy heaven. I must stop now though, lest I lose all control).


20170719_014101

Last sky picture, I promise, it’s just hard not to at this time of the year. Don’t worry, other months will not have all these, England doesn’t have frequent pretty evenings the rest of the year.


The 22nd marked Oscar’s 5th birthday, I celebrated it by baking him a peanut butter cake, you can see that post here. And here are some extra pictures from that day.

That evening I went on a night out, possibly one of my favourite. The last night out I had was February and before that April 2016! So they are a rare occasion πŸ™‚


Much like the first Sunday of the month the last ended in a similar manner, only with an ill nephew taking comfort in Oscars bed, and Oscar lying loyally beside him. ❀️


I really enjoyed July, and writing it up. As I’ve been doing this as the month has progressed it means I haven’t forgotten anything by the end (which would most certainly be the case if I hadn’t – I have a truly shocking memory). I definitely want to try and keep this up, even on months where very little happens, just so I can go back and recall, with ease, what went on πŸ™‚


How was your July? What has been your favourite memory looking back on the month? And what are you looking forward to in August?

 

16 thoughts on “Monthly Memories – July

  1. booandlittleman says:

    Lovely post. You live in a very beautiful part of the U.K – What county is it? I’m in Buckinghamshire – also very pretty!
    My favourite part of July was that I started doing anonymous random acts of kindness! In August I’m looking forward to starting a new writing course…. and my birthday!
    X

    Liked by 1 person

    • vintagetearose says:

      😊 North West, Greater Manchester. I’ve never been to Buckinghamshire but heard lovely things.
      Exciting month ahead 😊 hope your writing course goes well and that you have a lovely birthday πŸŽ‰πŸŽˆ x

      Liked by 1 person

  2. abbieleighberman says:

    I’m sorry that the summer weather hasn’t showed up where you live. I must say, you are so lucky to live in such a green, lush place as England. People think California is paradise but in reality it is a desert (in the South) and although it is nice that it’s super hot outside this time of year, there’s not much wildlife. Thank you for sharing with everyone, your photos are beautiful πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  3. rebeccadotflynn says:

    I love the idea of a monthly memories post, lovely to read and also a good place for you to look back on in the future. You take some lovely photos!

    Looks like a nice month all in all, with a bit of nice weather mixed in! love the baby in the dog bed photos, so cute!

    Sent from Outlook

    ________________________________

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Linda says:

    Darling! You come from an absolutely beautiful place in the world. And your sisters bub is gorgeous! Oscar is a littler adorable as well! ☺️

    Monthly summaries are great hey. One of my favourite posts to do! Nothing like starting a new month on the right foot! πŸ’›

    Liked by 1 person

    • vintagetearose says:

      I’d pretend to be modest but Oscar is adorable πŸ˜‰ do you get the same with your cats? Someone compliments them and you feel like you’ve had an input into their cuteness..? I think I sometimes forget he is not actually my biological offspring πŸ˜¦πŸ™ˆ

      Liked by 1 person

      • Linda says:

        Hahahaha! 🀣🀣
        You are a woman of my heart lovely.

        I am the exact same.
        When people gush over my felines, it’s a reflection of me.
        When people don’t, it’s a reflection of me. In which I take very, very personally. LOL! They are adorable, and furry, with the cutest furry paws, and g*d-dammit they WILL be adored! πŸ€—πŸ˜‚β€οΈ

        Liked by 1 person

      • vintagetearose says:

        Lol, exactly! My sister isn’t a dog person so she’s not that phased by Oscar, so sometimes she says stuff like ‘dogs just aren’t that cute’ and even though she isn’t singling Oscar out alone I get filled with such indignant rage.. thinking about it, if I was ever to end up in prison it’d likely be to do with bodily assault on those that insult my baby 🀣🀣

        Like

Leave a Reply

