Doggie Birthday Cake

Today I am putting up an extra post as it is my baby boy’s 5th birthday, and for the last few years I’ve baked him this peanut butter cake, which he wolfs down each year πŸ™‚ so below are the ingredients if you want to make it for your own precious fur-baby.

This year I also tried my hand at baking some chocolate biscuits for my nieces and nephews (isn’t it great when you can use your mini humans as your excuse for doing something you wanted purely for yourself). I’ve baked many cakes in the past but this was my first go baking biscuits/cookies. The recipe for those will be below too.

201707081948601565

I simply cannot believe that Oscar is already 5! It gives me heart palpitations to think about him getting older as he is my world and I cannot bear to face the truth that my years left with him are numbered. But I try as best as I can to put those fear-based thoughts aside and just treasure him.

I am aware this post is not going to be of interest to everyone, but I want to post it nonetheless… Here’s some of the many things I love about my boy:

  • When he sleeps on his back with his paws in the air.
  • Watching him run (he kind of runs like a crab – slightly sideways).
  • Watching his pretentious trot (he perks his ears and shakes his bum whilst having such a look of superiority on his face).
  • His love for his ‘baby’, whom he sleeps with every night, is his favourite toy to wrestle with, and brings to me as a present after I give him an especially delicious snack to eat.
  • The way he does handstands when he is doing number twos – this is a very bizarre trait, where he lifts his entire lower body off the floor, and then proceeds to poo. It’s embarrassing. It’s hilarious.
  • How he guards us/keeps us company when we go to the toilet.
  • Watching him spend a good 5 minutes ‘re-arranging’ my pillows, and bedding, huffing and puffing, and throwing stuff off my bed, circling the spot, before jumping OFF the bed, and falling asleep on the floor…?! Why?
  • How he stands on the edge of my bed, looks at me meaningfully, then lifts his paw – translating to – ”I would like to sit on the windowsill, please, I must survey my kingdom.’
  • How he look completely pathetic when soaked through.20170305_213755
  • How indignant he get when a fly dares to be in the same room as him.
  • Watching him yawn… watching him sneeze – both look equally ridiculous on him.
  • His single, random, yet perfectly crimped black ear hair.
  • When his upper lip gets stuck on his teeth and he just sit there seemingly unaware of this fact.
  • When he is mid barking and gets distracted by his own bottom and appear to lose his train of thought.
  • When he lies on his back, in the crook of my arm and falls asleep.
  • When his is barking, so I tell him off and tell him to sit down, so he does, but as he does he gives one final ruff of indignation as he goes.
  • The way plastic bags startle him.
  • The way leaves startle him.
  • The way balls startle him…. the way any inanimate object startles him.
  • How he loves my nieces and nephews.

received_10153694458363350

  • His little nose, and chin, and eyes (caramel coloured), and ears… basically his entire cute being.

This is by no means everything I love about him, but I have to stop somewhere, or the professionals with the straight jacket will undoubtedly descend upon my house.

 


Peanut Butter Dog Cake

20170722_153055

Ingredients

  • 1 egg
  • 65g peanut butter
  • 60ml vegetable oil
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 80g honey
  • 135g grated carrots
  • 120g wholemeal flour
  • 1 tsp bicarbonate soda

Steps

  1. Preheat oven to 180Β°C / gas 4
  2. Grease tin
  3. Combine egg, peanut butter, oil, vanilla and honey; blend well
  4. Stir in the carrots and mix thoroughly
  5. Sift together the flour and bicarbonate and fold well into the carrot mix
  6. Spoon mixture into tin
  7. Bake in preheated oven for 40 minutes
  8. Cool in pan for 10 minutes
  9. Turn out onto cooling rack

I then take the liberty of cutting them into shapes, previous years I’ve done it by myself, which usually results in a very wonky, not-really-dog-bone-shaped dog bone. This year I bought a cookie cutter, it didn’t work brilliantly as I had to do it when it was all finish, but either way Oscar doesn’t care, but I like the look of it in the pictures πŸ˜‰ Just before I let him tuck into it I also add some extra peanut butter on top.

VoilΓ 

These are from the last couple of years.

Untitled collagePhotoGrid_1469210726761PhotoGrid_1469210672880


Chocolate Cut-Out Biscuits

20170721_212905

Ingredients – Serves 10

  • 1 egg
  • 185g plain flour
  • 90g cocoa powder
  • 1ΒΌ tsp’s baking powder
  • β…› tsp salt
  • 185g softened butter
  • 250g caster sugar

Steps

  1. Combine flour, cocoa, baking powder and salt
  2. Blend sugar and butter until smooth and add an egg; blend well
  3. Gradually add the wet ingredients to the dry to form a soft pliable dough
  4. Flatten the dough into a thick disc and wrap in cling film. Refrigerate for 2 hours (making it easier to work with)
  5. Preheat oven to 190Β°C / gas 5
  6. With rolling pin, roll the dough out on a floured surface and cut into shapes with biscuit cutters. If the dough is sticking, add more flour to the work surface or put dough back into fridge for around 15 minutes. The more you handle to dough, the stickier it will be become, and harder to cut. I rolled it out to the height of about 1cm, and ended up with a considerable amount of leftover, so you could probably roll it out to 2cm and still serve around 10
  7. Place shapes onto a baking tray lined with baking parchment
  8. I then left them in the fridge for around another hour as I read online that it helps to keep their shape better, but this step is optional
  9. Bake in oven for 10-12 minutes (watch carefully! and be aware that cookies stay very soft whilst under the heat – (something I wasn’t aware of, so I left them in longer expecting them to harden a bit, like a cake, they didn’t, they just burnt a bit) 
  10. Allow to cool (this is were they will solidify to cookie consistency)
  11. Add icing and/or decorations or dust with icing sugar

 

If you’ve made it this far, through all these pictures, well done, and thank you πŸ™‚

12 thoughts on “Doggie Birthday Cake

Leave a Reply

